Woods Walking #3

A Spiritual Overcast    Original Post October 8, 2009

Here we are two weeks past the autumnal equinox and my evening walks are now mostly after dark. And tonight we are under heavily laden skies blocking my view of the bright evening stars, as the familiar Fall and Winter asterisms move over us while Mother Earth arcs its way around the sun once again.

But for the last few days, I have also been under a spiritual overcast. Lifted, prayerful mind finds a dark, lonely stratus, as though a loved one is away for a time. I am missing that quiet, innate intentional communication. Is it me Lord? Have I drawn a cocoon around myself? Or is it You leading ahead out of sight so that I must run to catch up – to see and feel again that familiar Presence and Warmth of Your Spirit, whether from the Communion of Saints or Your own Holy Spirit?

“I wish I could show you when you are lonely or in darkness the astonishing light of your own being.” ~ Hafiz

Like ancient mariners who relied solely on the stars to find their way, I know that the overcast will yield, even if partially. Soon I will see glimpses of the stars of Orion – Rigel stunningly bright after days of absence, peeking crisply around wispy edges. The mariner will get a fix on that one known star and plot the ship’s progress over uncertain waters.

I have made passage of these same dark waters before. Yet the darkness is a gift of its own. It puts me in mind of Your wondrous Presence when You are there. Inside this period of darkness, this period of lonely heart and restless soul, there is still a glimmer of light knowing that You have been there, and You will be once again.

Just as I know the stars shine above this evening’s dark overcast, I know that You are there as well with the familiar Communion of Saints. Whether waiting, or calling.

Patience and hope will bring once again the unbridled joy of clear skies, the steady deck of calm waters, a glad heart and the Peace of intimate presence with You again.

Copyright © 2009 Rudolph Siegel

The Clearing Sky

About rudyink

Answering the call.
This entry was posted in Woods Walking. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Woods Walking #3

  1. Catherine says:

    “Or is it You leading ahead out of sight so that I must run to catch up…”

    Very optimistic perspective. Had not thought of this perspective before.

  2. rudyink says:

    The unconditional love of God always awaits the prodigal sons and daughters!

    http://www.loyolapress.com/3-Minute-Retreat-coming-back.htm

  3. rudyink says:

    Fr. Thomas Keating talks about spiritual “dry periods” at 10 minutes into this marvelous video on “Oneness.”

  4. rudyink says:

    You have to learn to sail this ship of Self
    over the ocean of existence.
    Waves will come, but you stay
    composed in this inner serenity.
    This is freedom!

    ~ Mooji ~

  5. rudyink says:

    “That Nature is a Heraclitean Fire and of the Comfort of the Resurrection.”

    Away grief’s gasping, | joyless days, dejection.
    Across my foundering deck shone
    A beacon, an eternal beam. | Flesh fade, and mortal trash
    Fall to the residuary worm; | world’s wildfire, leave but ash:
    In a flash, at a trumpet crash,
    I am all at once what Christ is, | since he was what I am, and
    This Jack, joke, poor potsherd, | patch, matchwood, immortal diamond,
    Is immortal diamond. ~ Gerard Manley Hopkins, SJ, 1844 – 1889

Leave a Reply

